Review: Epilogue (The Dark Duet #3) by C.J. Roberts

BOOK 3 OF THE DARK DUET

I’m writing this because you begged. You know how I love the begging. In fact, you probably know too many things and know them far too well.

Who am I?

Well, that’s what I’m trying to figure out. I was a whore in my youth, a killer since my adolescence, and a monster as a man. I am the man who kidnapped Livvie. I am the man who held her in a dark room for weeks. But, most importantly, I am the man she loves.

She loves me. It’s quite sick, isn’t it?

Of course, there’s more to our story than can be surmised in a few short sentences, but I’m at a loss for justifying my behavior back then. I assume if you’re reading this, I don’t need to make those justifications. You’ve already made your own.

You’re reading this because you want to know about the rest of the story. You want to know what happened that warm summer night in September of 2010, the night I met Livvie at The Paseo. It was the night my life changed all over again.

It didn’t happen exactly as Livvie said. She’s been very kind to me in the retelling of our story. The truth is far more…complicated.

Add to Goodreads

Available on: Kindle / Nook

My Review

I really liked this series. It was very dark and Caleb was a bad guy. I got Stockholm Syndrome right along with Livvie as I read it! C.J. totally manipulated me!

This book is in Caleb’s POV. (I can’t say enough how much I love to see the guy’s POV.)

In this book, we get to see Caleb and Livvie (a.k.a. James and Sophia) adjust to being together again after he comes back into her life after hunting her down for a year. It is understandably a big adjustment for Caleb. He lived 20+ years of his life a certain way and now he has to live as a “normal” person. I am no “normal” expert but the way he lived his life before was not it compared to the rest of the world.

In his old life, he was in control of everything. He meets back up with Livvie and now he is just sitting around waiting for her as she lives her life. She has friends and a job and goes to school. Because of his past, he can’t just go out and make a life. He has to keep a low profile. This is a major adjustment for him.

They also have to sort through how they met and what they did together previously. For instance, they both like sexy times a certain way but will that ruin their relationship as a constant reminder of when he was her captor? You gotta read to find out! *evil laugh*

This book isn’t as dark as the first two. Pretty tame (Spoiler: Nobody is murdered!) in comparison but still a great read.  If you are anything like me, you need closure after all they went through.

Read this book. You won’t regret it!

Find author C.J. Roberts on her website, on Twitter, and on Facebook.

 

2 thoughts on “Review: Epilogue (The Dark Duet #3) by C.J. Roberts

Click in the white area. Type words. You know you want to.

