Review: The Silver Chain (The Unbreakable Trilogy #1) by Primula Bond

Blurb

Bound by passion, she was powerless to resist.

One dark evening in London, photographer Serena Folkes is indulging her impulsive side with a night-time shoot. But someone is watching her – mysterious entrepreneur Gustav Levi. Serena doesn’t know it yet, but this handsome stranger will change her life forever…

Serena is fascinated by Gustav, the enigmatic owner of the Levi Gallery, and she soon feels an irresistible pull of attraction. The interest is mutual, and Gustav promises to launch Serena’s photographic career at his gallery, but only if Serena agrees to become his exclusive companion.

To mark their agreement, Gustav gives Serena a bracelet to wear at all times. Attached to it is a silver chain of which he is the keeper. With the chain Gustav controls Serena physically and symbolically – a sign that she is under his power.

As their passionate relationship intensifies, Gustav’s hold on the silver chain grows stronger. But will Gustav’s dark past tear them apart?

An erotic romance novel perfect for fans of 50 Shades of Grey and Sylvia Day’s Crossfire series. The Silver Chain is the first in the sexy, passionate and addictive Unbreakable Trilogy by Primula Bond.

Add to Goodreads

Available on: Kindle / Nook / KoboiTunes / Google Play

My Review

I received an ARC copy of this book for review. The release day is July 4, 2013.

I am a huge fan of Sylvia Day’s Crossfire series and the mention of it in the blurb is what initially interested me in this story.

I was intrigued by Gustav from the moment he was first introduced. I wasn’t sure what to think of him. He was so mysterious. Even after reading this book, he still is. (This is a good thing since there are two more books still to come!) It was that mystery that had me hooked from the beginning.

Serena goes off to start her life to escape her past and meets Gustav. He also has a past he can’t seem to escape. They have quite an age difference between them but it doesn’t cause any issues. She needs an older man because of how she grew up and Gustav needs… her. They are both troubled by things they want to forget.

As I first started reading, I wasn’t really feeling connected to Serena. I felt like an outsider looking in not like I was living it with her. By the time I got further into the book, I was still not living her story as much as I have in other books but I was definitely hooked on Serena and Gustav as a couple.

At some points in the book, I didn’t understand why Gustav just wasn’t being clear with Serena. It was so frustrating for her and me. I couldn’t tell how he really felt about her. Was he just using her as a distraction? Did he plan on being rid of her when their contracted time together came to an end?

There are whips and chains in this book. If you aren’t into BDSM don’t worry, it isn’t a big part of the book. This books takes place in London so, if you are in the U.S. like me, be prepared for differences in spelling and sayings than what you are used to. I absolutely love reading these type of books. I try to say some of their saying in their accent out loud as I read.

An excerpt from book two of the trilogy is provided at the end. I don’t always read these but after how this book ended, I had to! I definitely want to read that one as well. I think – hope – we will get more insight into Gustav’s past. I think it is safe to say I am in an open relationship with this trilogy. I plan on reading others but I will come back to this one for sure.

Find Primula Bond on her website, on Twitter, and on Facebook.

One thought on “Review: The Silver Chain (The Unbreakable Trilogy #1) by Primula Bond

Click in the white area. Type words. You know you want to.

