Review: This Man Confessed (This Man, #3) by Jodi Ellen Malpas

The very place where their passionate love affair began, The Manor fills with guests on what should be the happiest day of Ava and Jesse’s lives. She has accepted that she’ll never tame the fierceness in Jesse, and she doesn’t want to. Their love is profound, their connection powerful, but just when she thinks that she’s finally got beneath his guarded exterior, more questions arise which lead Ava to believe that Jesse Ward may not be the man she thinks he is. He knows too well how to take her to a place beyond ecstasy…but will he also drive her to the brink of despair?

It’s time for this man to confess.

I received an ARC copy of this for review but it came out before I finished so I bought it! Boy was I excited to be reading this book.

If you follow my blog, you know that I love this trilogy. I already tried to talk you into reading it here.

I finished this book days ago and I started this review but I wasn’t sure what I wanted to say so it has been sitting here in my drafts. I know this review won’t do the book justice.

I love Jesse and Ava. Jesse is dominating and controlling. Ava just lets him get away with all his nonsense 99% of the time. They both drive me up the wall. They both make me laugh. They both make me… feel.

In the previous two books, all the things in their relationship that cause them to fight was because of Jesse. In this book, Ava actually is a naughty girl that causes Jesse to understandably be furious. His fury is definitely understood by the time you finish reading the book. We learn everything about Jesse and his past. Finally!

I knew there had to be a reason or reasons why he was a complete and total nutcase with Ava but everyone else in his life said he was laid back. The first time somebody told her he was only like that with her, I was incredulous. I also didn’t understand why they would just let him be that way. It would make more sense if that was just who he was all day everyday. But he isn’t.

One thing I had to realize was Ava is just as crazy with him at times. It just wasn’t as noticeable (for me at least) because the story is in her POV. Of course her view of Jesse’s actions are going to be totally out there and she is being perfectly logical. Women, for the most part, are not logical. We are emotional. But, since I am a woman, of course I was going to agree that Jesse had some serious issues and that everything she did was justifiable. Gotta stick with the sisterhood and all!

She does admit to herself at times that she is acting irrational but I was so focused on Jesse that it didn’t really register. I started to realize in book two but in this one it is perfectly clear. Jesse sends her off her rocker. Maybe things wouldn’t  have escalated as they did if she didn’t just sweep things under the rug but what ifs never help anyone.

I was so happy with this book. After all the things they go through, it ends perfectly. Jesse and Ava now understand each other. I think they both learned that you can’t keep secrets for fear of the other person running. Those secrets and unanswered questions will just send the other person away anyway. If you want your relationship to survive, you need to be honest and up front.

Love isn’t enough to keep a relationship together but, lucky for Jesse and Ava, their love is pretty damn strong. I would even say it is crazy strong.

So much happens in this book and I don’t want to give anything away so I will end my rambling review now.

This book was so good. I know I will be rereading it. I read the first two books at least 5 times each. I am an avid rereader. I don’t want book three to feel unloved!

Thank you, Jodi for such a wonderful story!

Find this wonderful author on her amazing new website, on Facebook and on Twitter.

Add to Goodreads

Buy for Kindle Buy for Nook

Click in the white area. Type words. You know you want to.

