Review: Slow Surrender (Struck by Lightning #1) by Cecilia Tan

He pushes her sexual boundaries . . .

From the moment waitress Karina meets him in a New York bar, she knows James is different. Daring. Dominating. Though he hides his true identity from her, the mysterious, wealthy businessman anticipates her every desire and fulfills her secret fantasies. Awakened by his touch, Karina discovers a wild side she hadn’t known existed and nothing is off limits.

She aches for more . . .

What begins as an erotic game soon escalates to a power play that blurs the line between pleasure and pain. Even as she capitulates to James’s sensual demands, Karina craves more. She wants his heart, his soul. She wants his love . . . and she’ll break all the rules to get it.

I loved this book.

I was so into it, I didn’t even turn my WiFi on for my eReader so I could read uninterrupted. That is pretty huge for me. I am always chatting away with all my book reading friends. Okay. You got me, I didn’t start reading it until late last night and I finished it by afternoon today. I might not have actually been chatting at that hour but the lure of the internet is strong. I had to shut that down.

From the moment Karina first meets James I was curious about him. Through the book he never truly reveals who he is. Their whole relationship is foreplay leading up to the grand finale of doing it but that isn’t what had me devouring this book like I was stranded on a desert island and the words were food to sustain me. It was the mystery. I was – am – dying to know about him.

Why is he so secret? Did something happen to him in the past to make him this way or is it just his money that has him staying away from people who could potentially use him?

We are given teeny tidbits of information just as a mind tease to keep us questioning what we think we’ve figured out.

It has some BDSM in it but nothing hard-core. It is mostly him telling her what to do (i.e. ‘wear this’ or ‘you have 60 seconds to do this’) and if she fails to do it, she gets a punishment. A lot of their interactions take place in his limo so space puts limitations to what the punishments could be.

Find Cecilia Tan on her websiteFacebookTwitter, and Tumblr.

Add to Goodreads

Buy for KindleBuy for Nook

One thought on “Review: Slow Surrender (Struck by Lightning #1) by Cecilia Tan

Click in the white area. Type words. You know you want to.

