Review: Escaping Reality (The Secret Life of Amy Bensen #1) by Lisa Renee Jones

Infinite possibilities….
Infinite passion…..
Infinite danger….

His touch spirals through me, warm and sweet, wicked and hot. I shouldn’t trust him. I shouldn’t tell him my secrets. But how do I not when he is the reason I breathe? He is what I need.

At the young age of eighteen, tragedy and a dark secret force Lara to flee all she has known and loves to start a new life. Now years later, with a new identity as Amy, she’s finally dared to believe she is forgotten–even if she cannot forget. But just when she lets down her guard, the ghosts of her past are quick to punish her, forcing her back on the run.

On a plane, struggling to face the devastation of losing everything again and starting over, Amy meets Liam Stone, a darkly entrancing recluse billionaire, who is also a brilliant, and famous, prodigy architect. A man who knows what he wants and goes after it. And what he wants is Amy. Refusing to take “no” as an answer, he sweeps her into a passionate affair, pushing her to her erotic limits. He wants to possess her. He makes her want to be possessed. Liam demands everything from her, accepting nothing less. But what if she is too devastated by tragedy to know when he wants more than she should give? And what if there is more to Liam than meets the eyes?

***

I received this book as an ARC but it came out before I got to read it. I still read the ARC copy for review. Just FYI.

I loved this book. It took me a few tries to start it because the first page didn’t instantly grab me but as soon as Liam was introduced, I was lost to this story. I want to add that it took me a few tries to start also because I have so many books I want to read and not because the start to the book is bad. I just have The Wanderlust: Book Edition.

I suppose I should warn you now that this book ends on a cliffhanger. Book two isn’t set to be out until October 2013 according to Goodreads.

Liam as described as a reclusive billionaire (but Amy isn’t entirely convinced.) He has one tattoo. It is a geekhot tattoo. I just made geekhot a word. Write it down and use it.

I am not sure what I can say about this book without giving things away about the story. This book has a lot going on: Danger, mystery, secrets, and passion.

We all know – if not from personal experience than from reading the books we do – that keeping secrets is never good for a relationship. Some part of the secret is going to come out and another person is going to jump to conclusions. I have seen it happen time and time again in many a book. This is a perfect example of that.

I am glad to say that it isn’t one of those books that makes you want to hurt one of the characters because they are just being stupidly stubborn. Amy’s situation seems to be life or death and she can’t be too careful!

I am desperate for book two. When I got to the end of the book I was frantically still trying to turn to the next page even though it clearly said in bold letters that the conclusion would be in book two which was coming soon. I have no idea why Amy is running or who/what she is running from but I am glad to know that the next book will give me some answers!

I do have one quote that gives nothing away that I liked:

Life is as perfect as a hot man in a pink hat, if you know what I mean.

Find Lisa Renee Jones on her website, Facebook, and Twitter.

Add to Goodreads

Buy for Nook Buy for Kindle

3 thoughts on “Review: Escaping Reality (The Secret Life of Amy Bensen #1) by Lisa Renee Jones

Click in the white area. Type words. You know you want to.

