ARC Review: The Way Home (Lights of Peril #2) by A.C. Bextor

Blurb

Where do you begin to piece back the fragments of a shattered heart?

“I’m letting you go today, it’s time.”

Finally, Sadey is ready to say goodbye to the only man she’s ever loved. With the help of Shame and Mace she’s learning to breathe on her own again; one day at a time.

Her hopes are high and her world is finally coming into focus.

Until someone from her past comes back to help her heal, bringing with him more heartbreak and confusion than she could have ever believed possible.

Ace loves her. For six months, he’s watched her suffer from a distance. Knowing it wasn’t his place to see her through this, but no matter the risk he won’t stay away.

“Sadey, I’ve missed you, okay? I’ve thought about you. I missed being here. Do you understand that? I’ve missed being around you, touching you, holding you, and laughing with you. I missed you before I even left town that night. You chose Hem, not that it was any kind of competition, but you were with Hem. I was never even given the consideration.”

Emotions are high as further truths of betrayal are exposed, leaving everyone to pick up the pieces once again.

Add to Goodreads

Purchase Links

Kindle / Nook

My Review

I found this series when I was just browsing the shop on my nook one day. I am always on the hunt for biker books. I purchased the first book, which has been revamped since then, and I cried my eyes out – more like tears were ripped from my eyes – and then I patiently waited for this book. Unlike the people in the Amazon review world *cough*, I had faith that the author had a plan on where the story was going.

*Note: I want print copies of the series just so I can stare at the covers anytime I want!

Even though it has been a while since I read Holding On, I was still sad when I started this book. Sadey still isn’t over what happened. This is understandable but also heartbreaking. I just felt so bad for her. But then…

“I can see his biceps flexing again through his shirt. How did I never notice this before? He’s a beautiful man.”

Well there is something to help perk a girl up! I don’t care how melancholy you are, a little eye candy never hurt nobody! Ace is back in town!

With Ace back, tension in the club is really high and the men don’t want the girls to know anything. How frustrating!

When I finally found out what the big secret and reason for all the tension was, I was reading in bed so I couldn’t be loud and wake up anyone but I was excited to finally be in the loop! I think anyone that reads this book will be happy with how things turn out.

As with any series, I liked reconnecting with everyone we met in the first installment. Shame and Mace are still going at it hot and heavy unconcerned with who is around. Ace has his heart set on Sadey. Honor, who worked at a tattoo parlor called Ink, is still a sweetheart who may or may not need a stuffed animal to help him sleep. *grin*

The one club member I am super curious about is Gunner. He is so secretive. He has to have a story!

“His reaction to this entire situation is curious and nerve racking. How is he not out of his fuckin’ mind right now?”

I am intrigued, Gunner. Indubitably.

This book will be available on January 20, 2014 on Kindle and Nook!

Author Connect

Facebook

3 thoughts on “ARC Review: The Way Home (Lights of Peril #2) by A.C. Bextor

Click in the white area. Type words. You know you want to.

