A.C. Bextor reviews Archer’s Voice by Mia Sheridan

Blurb

When Bree Prescott arrives in the sleepy, lakeside town of Pelion, Maine, she hopes against hope that this is the place where she will finally find the peace she so desperately seeks. On her first day there, her life collides with Archer Hale, an isolated man who holds a secret agony of his own. A man no one else sees.

Archer’s Voice is the story of a woman chained to the memory of one horrifying night and the man whose love is the key to her freedom. It is the story of a silent man who lives with an excruciating wound and the woman who helps him find his voice. It is the story of suffering, fate, and the transformative power of love.

THIS IS A STAND-ALONE NOVEL. The first three books in the series need not be read to enjoy this book. New Adult Contemporary Romance: Due to strong language and sexual content, this book is not intended for readers under the age of 18.

Add to Goodreads

AmazonBarnes & NobleKobo | iTunesSmashwords

A.C.’s Review

When I was asked if I wanted to participate in writing a review for Archers Voice, I was hesitant.  Anyone who has read the book recognizes that there’s a lot of content filled with angst and emotion to capture in a short review to do it any justice for those that may have it on their ‘to be read’ list. 

This book was recommended to me by a friend that had just finished it.  In all honesty, she had to sell me on it because I wasn’t sure I was ready – I was excited and enthused by her reaction to it, but I was nervous.  

I finished reading Archer over a week ago and I’m still having issues in letting him go.   Here’s just a few reasons why…

– The author, Mia Sheridan, created realistic and loveable characters that, in one way or another, each reader can relate to on some level.  Throughout the book I wanted to reach in to slap Bree, hug Archer, sit with Anne while drinking tea, and physically hurt Travis.  But Aunt Tori?  I would have volunteered to serve prison time for giving her what I felt she rightly deserved.

“Archer,” I grabbed his hands, bringing them to my heart as I had done earlier, “you are a real person, you can live a life like other people do. Who told you you can’t?”

– The theme.  Pages and pages of angst, emotion, heartbreak, and love.  At times, the book was dark as shadows from the past loomed over each beloved character.  Other times, the love you sensed was so powerful you felt it in your chest as your eyes stung and your skin chilled.

“Can I ask you a question? He said, those same red spots appearing high on his cheekbones. God, he was beautiful to me. Anything. Did you… want me to kiss you yesterday? Did you want me to touch you?”

– Chapter Thirty Three.  I felt I died a thousand deaths with each word.

“You brought the silence. The most beautiful sound I’d ever heard. Because it was where you were. And now you’ve taken it away. And all the noises, all the sounds in the world, aren’t loud enough to pierce my broken heart. I look up at the stars, endless and forever, and whisper, Come back to me, Come back to me, Come back to me.”

Throughout the book I found myself pausing, putting my kindle down, shaking my head, and walking away.  I told myself I couldn’t continue.  At one point, I went back to the reviews searching for spoilers.  I emailed my friends nearly begging them to tell me that Archer was going to be alright.

“I didn’t know enough to dream you, Bree, but somehow you came true anyway. How did that happen?”

Personally, I will say, I’m an alpha male junkie.  That said, although Archer was everything but alpha, I appreciated him in the same way, but from a different perspective.  I saw him as a person that needed help and didn’t know where to turn.  I saw a broken little boy searching to find a life less lonely.  I felt myself wanting to shelter him, embrace him, protect him, and free him.  I’ve never thought of myself as an emotional reader, until now.

“I know that you were trying to… expand my world. I just need to do that as I’m ready to do that, okay? And I don’t know when I’ll be ready to do that. It might be a long time, Bree.”

Mia’s writing is expressive, genuine, and sincere.  The book hangover I’m still suffering from, after a week, is one that I won’t soon forget.  The emotions she provoked with her words will have me reading anything she publishes.

Thank you Mia, for sharing your gift with the rest of the world.

About Mia

I’m an avid reader, and now writer of romance and erotic novels. I live in Cincinnati, Ohio with my husband who is a police officer and my biggest fan (not necessarily in that order). ;) We have four children here on earth and one in heaven. When I’m not sitting on my couch with my head buried in my Kindle, I can be found writing or doing anything creative from building a patio, to sewing pillows. The wild hairs I get know no bounds. Leo is my debut novel, but my head is swimming with more…

Connect with Mia

Website | Facebook | Twitter

 Archer’s Voice Playlist

(from Mia’s website)

Guest Reviewer A.C. Bextor

Author of the Lights of Peril series:

Holding On | The Way Home | Toxic (Coming Soon)

Connect with A.C.

Facebook | Amazon

2 thoughts on “A.C. Bextor reviews Archer’s Voice by Mia Sheridan

Click in the white area. Type words. You know you want to.

