ARC Review: Play by Kylie Scott

TitlePlay (Stage Dive, #2) 

Author: Kylie Scott

Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance

Release Date: March 25, 2014

Kylie Scott returns with the highly anticipated follow-up to international bestseller LICK.

Blurb

Mal Ericson, drummer for the world famous rock band Stage Dive, needs to clean up his image fast—at least for a little while. Having a good girl on his arm should do the job just fine. Mal doesn’t plan on this temporary fix becoming permanent, but he didn’t count on finding the one right girl.

Anne Rollins never thought she’d ever meet the rock god who plastered her teenage bedroom walls—especially not under these circumstances. Anne has money problems. Big ones. But being paid to play the pretend girlfriend to a wild life-of-the-party drummer couldn’t end well. No matter how hot he is. Or could it?

Add to Goodreads

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon UK | Barnes & Noble

 

My Review

Okay so Lick was one of my top faves of 2013. Play is on my list for 2014.

I was actually laughing out loud as I read it. Mal is so hilarious but at the same time he is serious about everything he says. I think that is what makes him so great. (He is also a sexy inked drummer for the band Stage Dive so he has a lot going for him.)

I don’t think I can ever do Malcolm justice with my rudimentary skills in writing (rudimentary is being kind) but I just love him. I wish I had somebody with his personality in my life. I imagine it would break up my days of diapers and teeth brushing and sibling fights with something enjoyable that doesn’t make me want to just crawl into a closet and hide.

The same could be said for all the characters in this book. Anne has good friends and a lovely sister in college that she has taken care of for a while. Anne just goes with the flow of crazy that is Mal. I think watching them for real would be like watching a fast paced tennis match. (But WAY more interesting cause ain’t nobody got time for tennis!)

Inner musing: Hmmm will something happen with Anne’s sister? Come on, Kylie! It’s me! Your pal! Hi. It will be just between us girls if you tell me. Pinky promise. *puppy dog eyes*

In fear of giving away spoilers if I continue on with all the things I love about this book, I will stop here.

I strongly suggest this series!

Lick (Stage Dive #1)

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Barnes & Noble

About the Author

USA Today Bestselling Australian Romance Writer.

Author Connect

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Email | Goodreads

Click in the white area. Type words. You know you want to.

