Review: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green [@realjohngreen]

Blurb

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis.

But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

Add to Goodreads

Amazon | Barnes & NobleKobo | iBooks

 

My Review

My husband gives me a hard time with my reading predilection. I didn’t always read romance. I used to go to the bookstore with the sole purpose of going to the fiction section and finding ‘the thickest book I could find.’ The last time I did that, I was still in high school and the book was Anne Rice’s The Witching Hour. That was a while ago. I discovered romance not long after that book.

Anyway, my husband said he wanted to read this book so I suggested we read it at the same time. I guess I want to prove to him that I can read something other than books with ‘throbbing cock’ in them. (This unfortunately he saw when he sat at my computer and I had a word doc open from when I was working on one of my text portraits. He thinks the books I read are all about sex. They aren’t. Well, not always.)

This conversation happened months ago. He is always busy and reading ends up on the back burner for him. Well the other night, he started the book and got halfway through it. It is only 318 pages. I was like, “Oh shit, I better get on it then!” I then spent that entire day watching television. (Hashtag procrastination.) He obviously tormented me with the knowledge that he would finish the book before I ever started it. This could not be.

I started the book before I went to bed last night (4/07/2014) and I just finished it today a few moments ago. I have a crying headache and it is very unpleasant. A side-effect of reading books of this nature. I feel guilty complaining of a crying headache compared to what the characters in this book dealt with but they aren’t even real. Not technically. But people with cancer are real and it is true that no matter what is going on in your life, somebody has it worse than you do. Even among those with cancer.

One thing that was glaringly obvious to me as I read is how more grown up kids with a terminal illness are. When I was her age, I was nothing like Hazel. That isn’t true. I also had a driver’s license. That is about it for our similarities. As I mentioned, the characters are young, 16-17, when this story first starts out. these quotes I shared are from them. That is not something the average teenager would say especially nowadays when kids spell words with numbers. (Most phones have a full qwerty keyboard. Why is this a thing that happens???)

If it isn’t clear, I absolutely loved this book. I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone that can’t handle devastating sadness. I cried so much as I read this. My 5-year-old son kept asking me to stop crying. I said I would once I finished the book. When (if?) I tell my husband how much I cried, he will invariably roll his eyes at me. (I cry at books, movies and even commercials. The Superbowl best buds commercial? I lose it every time.)

I have one quote I loved that I think anyone that finds an author they just adore can relate to. I want to read anything she thinks is worth putting pen to paper (or fingers to keys).

 

Author Connect

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Tumblr | Instagram

Click in the white area. Type words. You know you want to.

